New York State Announces Major Changes to its COVID-19 Travel Advisory and Quarantine Requirements

Instead of continuing to maintain a growing list of states from which travelers entering New York must quarantine for 14 days, the governor has announced that, effective November 4, 2020, travelers entering New York from any other non-contiguous state can “test out” of the 14-day mandatory quarantine requirements. 

The standards for “testing out” of quarantine are as follows: 

For travelers who were in another state for more than 24 hours: 

  • Travelers must obtain a COVID diagnostic test within three days of departure from that state. 
  • The traveler must, upon arrival in New York, quarantine for three days and must complete the NYS Traveler Health Form online. That form can be accessed here.  
  • On day four of their quarantine, the traveler must obtain another COVID diagnostic test. If both tests come back negative, the traveler may exit quarantine early upon receipt of the second negative test. 

For travelers who were in another state for less than 24 hours:  

  • The traveler does not need a COVID test prior to their departure from the other state and does not need to quarantine upon arrival in New York State. 
  • However, the traveler must fill out the NYS Traveler Health Form upon entry into New York State, and take a COVID diagnostic test four days after their arrival in New York. 

As noted above, travelers entering New York from one of its bordering states – New Jersey, Connecticut, Pennsylvania, Massachusetts, or Vermont – do not have follow the testing or quarantine requirements set forth above, and essential workers remain exempt from these requirements as well. 


If you have questions regarding the New York State COVID-19 Travel Advisory, or any other HR matter, please contact us at 631-794-7400 or